Final Thoughts on Swearing

Other criminal hacks will know the old story about an angry defendant at the old Knightsbridge Crown Court (round the back of Harrods – those were the days) who was sentenced to a substantial bit of bird. As he’s being taken out of the dock he shouts at the judge: ‘You’re a c***’. Judge says: ‘Stay there a moment Mr X. Now, when I leave here I’m going to play a round of golf and then go home, where my wife will have a gin and tonic waiting for me. We may go out to dinner. You are going to gaol. Who’s the c***?’

About Francis FitzGibbon QC

I am a QC and member of Doughty Street Chambers, London (www.doughtystreet.co.uk). I practise criminal law. Please do not look for legal advice in this blog as you won't find any. The views expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Final Thoughts on Swearing

  1. anyapalmer says:

    Story I was told on Twitter by @BristolRed:

    Best exchange in court. V Noel Coward English counsel “Let’s look at your account” My client “i’m a c@%t?! You’re the c@%t!”

Leave a Reply

